Quilas

I know what you’re thinking. What is a quilas?

Many years ago, I was playing Scrabble with my brother and his then-wife. I had a jumble of letters that I couldn’t make a word from, so I put down:
Q – U – I – L – A – S.

They were suspicious.

“Are you going to challenge me?” I asked. The penalty in Scrabble for an incorrect challenge is to lose your turn.

“What is it?” they replied.

“It’s one of those African musical instruments, that you play with your thumbs,” I said.

“Yeah, I’ve seen those,” they said.

At this point, almost every word or name that’s ever existed has been claimed by WordPress bloggers. It’s nearly impossible to secure a name these days. I went through quite a few ideas before hitting on this one. And it came to me because I was recently telling someone the Scrabble story above.

Today I did a search for quilas on the internet. Naturally, something showed up. I think if you search for any random string of characters, something will show up. It turns out that Quilas is the name of a Mexican restaurant in British Columbia, Canada.

Watch me get a cease-and-desist letter from them now!

Leave a Reply

