Back To Work

I wound up writing about the No 7-Eleven effort in the “East Village” a lot more than I had intended. After first reading about it on EV Grieve, there was something about it that just didn’t sit right with me, and I wanted to flesh out what that was. I tried to summarize it — I wound up posting a piece that was just notes I was working with, and another sniping at their opposition to the city’s ban on >16-ounce sodas in restaurants/movie theaters/etc. It wasn’t until I visited the bodegas myself that it all came together.

Now that I’m done with that, I can go back to writing about my main focus of concern these days: gentrification.

If you’ve been following this, you will know that I’ve been reading Neil Smith’s book The New Urban Frontier. My next few posts will come from Chapter 3: Local Arguments, which is really the crux of the book, if you ask me. Here is where Smith challenges the traditional consumer-sovereignty assumptions expressed by the “back to the city” nomenclature, examines the importance of capital investment in shaping/re-shaping the urban landscape, analyses disinvestment (a widely-ignored determinant of urban change), and discusses the “rent gap.”

So, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

