N7E Blocks Quilas!

I’ve been pretty busy at work lately, so I haven’t been able to check my Twitter account as often as I’ve done in the past, so I don’t know if what I’m about to report happened recently or a little while ago, but today I was scrolling down my feed and I noticed a distinct absence of tweets from No 7‑Eleven NYC. “That’s odd,” I thought. “Have there been no robberies at 7‑Elevens in the Southwest lately?”

So I went to their home page, and the Follow button twitter-follow-buttonwas active, instead of the Following button twitter-following-buttonthat I was accustomed to seeing. That’s odd, I thought, so I clicked it.

twitter-quilas-blocked

Well, blow me down! They’re blocking Quilas from receiving their tweets!

OK, no big deal. I can always go to their home page. I saw one thread I was interested in, and clicked twitter-view-conversation, and got this:

twitter-quilas-not-authorized

Apparently they’ve never heard the adage “Keep your friends close, and your enemies closer.” They’re not my enemies, but if you follow this blog, you know we don’t agree on some things. Still, you would think that they’d want to know what I was saying on Twitter, if it had anything to do with them, no? Presumably, they won’t receive tweets of mine with their address in it twitter-n7e-address. How do you run damage control when you don’t know what’s going on?

Silly people!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alexis
    May 18, 2013 @ 15:54:50

    No 7-Eleven blocked you for aggravating them on social media and you blog about this? Hardly an achievement worth boasting about.

    Reply

    • shmnyc
      May 18, 2013 @ 22:30:21

      Aggravating them? By pointing out errors in their allegations? OK.

      And I wasn’t boasting. I was reporting.

      Reply

  2. Alexis
    May 19, 2013 @ 02:04:14

    I’ve read your Tweets to No 7-Eleven and you are purposely trying to aggravate them. For example, your comment on Grieve today saying they are taking credit for the delayed 7-Eleven opening. They never made such a claim and you know it.

    Reply

    • shmnyc
      May 19, 2013 @ 08:06:08

      Alexis,

      Do you follow what they write? The headline on Save the Lower East Side for their piece on construction delays reads:

      “NO 7-Eleven: resist chains and corporate control” is winning!

      Besides, I think you’re missing the point here. It’s a futile move, on their part.

      Reply

  3. Alexis
    May 19, 2013 @ 08:08:59

    Nothing in the blog post says they are responsible. Period.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

