Tompkins Square Park 26th Police-Riot Reunion

Time certainly flies. It seems like only yesterday I was writing about the Tompkins Square Park 25th Police-Riot Reunion, and here we are now at year 26.

It’s raining as I write this (8/2 – 08:15) — it’s forecasted to rain all day — but the show will go on, rain or shine, says the promoter.

The weird thing about weather.com is that when you look at the summary forecast, it says one thing:

26-tsp-reunion-weather

but when you check the hourly forecast, oftentimes it says something completely different:

26-tsp-reunion-weather-hourly

What’s up with that? How are you supposed to know what to believe?

Another thing I don’t like about weather.com is that when you connect, to find out what the weather will be, you’re met with links to videos that have nothing to do with the weather:

26-tsp-reunion-weather-videos

* * *

Since it’s Saturday and I’m not working, I don’t have to plan ahead what to wear or take with me. I’ll base my decision on whatever’s happening at 12:45. I’ll take an umbrella, just in case. I don’t want my camera to get wet. And it’s six hours long, so I’m going to bring my book!

This year there are only two days of concerts. The bands are:

Saturday
Iconicide
Nihilistics
Ruckus Interruptus
Transgendered Jesus
Urban Waste

Sunday
Bowery Boys
Hammerbrain
David Peel
Penguin
Rosabelle Selavy
Sewage
The Voluptuous Horror of Karen Black

* * *

Saturday

I arrived at Tompkins just before 1:00pm, when the flier said they would begin.

Little did I know that they meant begin building the stage!

26-tsp-reunion-building-stage
12:48

I called my wife and told her I could help her take her books over the The Strand to sell now, after all, as she had wanted, instead of at some unspecified time in the future, as I had wanted.

When I got back over to the park, at around 2:30, Chris Flash was introducing the weekend’s events:

26-tsp-reunion-chris-flash
Concert organizer Chris Flash

He talked a bit about the riot, the days that followed, and the inception of The Shadow. When he was finished, he said there were still ten minutes left and anyone “who can speak coherently, who isn’t a complete lunatic” could come up and speak. Fortunately, only one lunatic spoke. Unfortunately, he wasn’t incoherent.

The bands finally started at around 3:00. I couldn’t stay for the whole show, though. I had to get back to the garden where I’m a member, for the screening of “Your Day is My Night,” part of the MoRUS “Women of the Lower East Side” film festival.

* * *

Sunday

It’s clear to me now that the flier distributed to promote this show was wrong: it was not scheduled to start at 1:00. I arrived just before 1:00 again, and sat on a bench watching the stage builders rebuild the stage.* I thought about waiting until 3:00, but it rained earlier and it was very humid, and I had a lot of work to do at home, before picking up my son from Grand Central, so I decided to just pack it in and go back home. I didn’t see any of Sunday’s show, so the only video I have is of the first three bands that played on Saturday.

But before that! One of the people in the video featured prominently in a previous Quilas piece. Do you know which one? The first correct responder will receive the Quilas Certificate of Recognition, suitable for framing!

certificate-of-recognition

Now, on to the video!
 

=-=-=-=-=

* Wasn’t the deal with the city that they would provide a temporary stage, in exchange for tearing down the bandshell? Did the time expire on that deal, or did they just renege? Or is it something else? Answer in the Comments section. You won’t get a certificate, but doing the right thing is its own reward.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iconicide
    Aug 06, 2014 @ 20:45:37

    The city now says they have only one movable stage for the borough of Manhattan. And they are fickle and selective about providing it. This year they guaranteed it would be there for all shows associated with the Sh@dow. But of course they reneged. A couple years ago they promised me a stage for one of my events, then gave it to the puerto rican day parade instead.

    Reply

  2. Iconicide
    Aug 06, 2014 @ 20:52:07

    In addition, the show DID start at 1:00PM, with un amplified acoustic acts. Rule of thumb for these shows is people usually come into the park in significant numbers only after they hear something already going on, thereby missing the first two bands. The amplified sound permit was from 2-6pm, however the backline, provided generously by the Nihilistics, did not arrive until 3pm. Finally, this was a “political rally with music”, versus a music concert, so it was necessary, and beneficial, to have speakers open the show, and provide buffers between bands.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

